What God, Chapter 1

The following is an excerpt of a work-in-progress novel. Please let me know what you think!

In the deep in the wasting corpse of industry an angel on a billboard burned. No one had touched this area of town in 15 years and this billboard was no different, a failed product line from a dying company. The top of it had already burned and coalesced into the smog, making the silhouette of this angel seem as though she was diving upwards into Hell. I listened to it burn in the wind-whistle silence of abandoned buildings.  I sat and watched and listened.

I thought about checking the surrounding buildings for squatters to warn them of the possible danger. If I did I’d be shot. Even in plain clothes I look like a cop and there are  days that looking like a civilian would be a blessing. I was born with a stern face and a conceal-carry permit. I’ve never been a civilian.

It was still early morning as I made my way through midtown. I hit the traffic, and people’s windows were open in the humid heat to play out their choice of early-morning talk-radio. I listened to the usual rhythm of dispatch at dawn; fender benders and last-call cleanup. After stopping to get some coffee at a drive-through I languished in the traffic, enjoying the rest after a hellish night.

Everyone out here was rushing to work or to wage, and when everyone else wanted to get there on time I was just happy just to have some. It was a rare moment in between paperwork and cases where the city was quiet only for me.

Reverie is rarely kept for long, though. A call from dispatch.

“Julia, My dear.” Was my answer, less formal than the precinct liked.

“Hey Mikey, Misha has a need for you” But I had known Julia since I was a PI.

“Right now?”

“As quickly as you can” Figures.

“Let the Chief know I’m running lights from midtown”

“Be safe, Detective”

Its easy for a man to feel powerful when all he needs is some flashing lights for a sea of people in their own little worlds to part and give way. 40 minutes of traffic was made into 10 minutes of glorious speeding. Public Service has its perks.

One Comment on “What God, Chapter 1”

  1. […] The following is the second chapter of a work-in-progress novel. Please let me know what you think! First Chapter Here […]


Leave a Reply

